Share your life story..
 
    Today was my first "official" contract day for school year 2013-2014.  The beginning of school always is a time for excitement.  As a kid it was one of my favorite events....I know I know....what you are thinking....you must be a nerd.  Yes....I was quite studious in school and loved school.  And as an adult....I find that as the weeks leading up to the first day of school near...I often experience the same feeling that I felt when I was a little kid.  Excitement and anticipation for the school year.  Walking around our campus today I felt the energy and excitement of many of our staff members who were up at school (on their days off :  their contracts don't start for another week).  They were setting up their classrooms making sure that everything is perfect for the students who will be placed in their classrooms for the next school year.  
    I am fortunate that not only am I a parent of one of these kids that will entering those doors in a few short weeks but am also an educator.  I am blessed to see all that goes on behind the scenes in preparation for that first day of school.  It is my hope that the parents of all of our students appreciate the dedication and investment of time that all of our teachers have provided to prepare for the upcoming year.  
    I am looking forward to working with my Kinder, 3rd and 4th graders this year.  As a school counselor, I have the benefit of working will all the kids in my grade levels and look forward to the daily reception that I receive when I walk into classrooms to teach my guidance lessons.  My kids treat me as if I am a rock star each and every day.  It never fails that when I open the door the kids are already cheering and chanting.  That my friends is truly priceless.  I don't know many jobs where you walk into a room to applause, hugs and smiles all around.  
     I often get comments from individual's not in the educating profession stating "I could NEVER do what your do" or "I don't know how you do it".  Well my short and simple answer is......my kids (students....they really are like my own kids).  So as many of your kids make their way back into the classroom, please thank, support and partner with your children's teachers. You see....we all have a common goal.......success of your child.  Best wishes for an awesome school year for everyone!!!!  I hope that your kids BUILD AWESOME LIFE STORIES this year.  Thankful that the teachers I had as a kid helped me to do the same.  That is why I LOVED school so much as a kid.
  

Comments are closed.

    I am an elementary school counselor and a mother of two children and am Independent Artist with South Hills Designs. I am also a former military brat. My father proudly served in the Air Force for over twenty years. As a result, I was fortunate enough to travel all over the world. When I am not playing taxi, teacher, cheerleader, cook, etc, I love to relax and do crafts, blog and design South Hills Lockets. I find that crafting is a great way to unwind and de-stress after a hectic day and blogging allows me to stay in touch with the many people I was fortunate enough to meet in my travels.

    Archives

    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All
    #firstdayofschool
    #lifestories
    #thankateacher


Stories from the heart....